Hitting The Reset Button on…Bad Mojo

None of us are infallible. We’re all human and will fall prey to anger, jealousy, disappointment and regret.

I believe things happen for a reason. We may not ever know the reason.

We’ve all heard the saying, “that which does not kill us makes us stronger”.

Well, I really wish the universe would stop trying to kill me! (wink wink)

I am far from perfect and very much a work in progress.

Dr. Wayne Dyer often says, “Do I want to be right, or do I want to be happy?”

Boy, that’s a tough one, isn’t it?  Because being right makes me VERY happy!

When I have been hurt, insulted or wronged, I go through all the normal emotions of anger, resentment and delusions of sweet revenge (ha!).

In general, I don’t take things personally. I know it’s not about me, it’s about them, the day they’re having, the mood they were already in and I don’t sweat it.

But sometimes it’s quite obvious when it’s directed at you, isn’t it? Even when it’s directed at you, you know what?  It doesn’t mean we have to tolerate it, but…how will you respond for your own well-being?

I go through my moment of “how dare they!” in my head or maybe I vent to someone close to me.

But then, I take a deep breath and then say, “Okay, now what?”

Well, it depends on who we’re talking about and what did they do and how bad was it? Do the authorities need to be involved? Well, than that’s another story and please consult the appropriate professionals. 

****Take this jerky situation and turn it around by doing something positive****

It may sound kinda cheesy and warm and fuzzy to some, but so what? What if it helps and makes you feel better, makes your life better and you’re a happier and healthier person?

They may suck, but their behavior makes me appreciate SO MUCH the good people in my life.

Friends, family, co-workers, whatever the scenario, we can always find something positive to shake us out of that moment.

 

Maybe we had a bad audition and we continue to beat ourselves up over and over and over…I shoulda done this, I shoulda done that.

And I say “moment” because we cannot allow it to overtake us and let it last too long. It’s just not healthy.

How do I erase the bad mojo and hit the reset button?

I do something nice for someone else in my life.

If someone at work is a jerk to you…send a nice email, joke or buy a card for someone who always makes you laugh and treats you with respect.

If someone in your family is a jerk to you…do some sort of “thank you” for someone in your family that is there for you. Or perhaps it’s not someone you’re related to, but they treat you as one of their own.

And most importantly, do something nice for yourself. Watch your favorite movie, go and get a massage or buy that handbag you’ve had your eye on. Do it! Go and find some happy!

Focus on the positive and appreciate those that have made a positive impact on your life and be sure to let them know in the present.

Never allow the behavior of some to change who you are and how you behave.

“When I find myself acting in ways that are not true to my character, it means I’m around the wrong people”.–from “ACTING…It’s Not For Sissies”

Peace.

**I suggest reading anything by Dr. Wayne Dyer and “The Four Agreements” by Miguel Ruiz is incredibly beneficial & easy-to-read; even if you only read the inside flap that lists the 4 agreements…do it!

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00WFK8SS4

2 thoughts on “Hitting The Reset Button on…Bad Mojo

Leave a Reply

